Would like advive for more of a cottage appeal

cedar rapids, IA(Zone 5a)

I'm a newbie to CG and have been seeing some others have asked for advice, so I'm taking a chance to see if you can help me...
I moved 3 yrs ago into this house, there was nothing here when I started...I really want a cottage look and I'm having a hard time.. I put the awnings and the window boxes on, made the little front porch, new sliding, windows, roof, new driveways and sidewalks...but I just can't get the front to have that welcome feeling, or that charm that a cottage has.not sure if I should line the driveways and sidewalk with flowers or hosta's or if that would be to much
see what you think...Thanks cindy

This message was edited Sep 8, 2007 6:27 PM

Thumbnail by want2bee
Medway, MA(Zone 5b)

Hi Cindy! I think the plant that would give it instant charm is a climbing rose or two on either side of the front porch. Also, why not try one of those old-fashioned screen doors - that would look good with the roses. For plants under the picture window, how about foxglove, cleome, and the newer shorter delphiniums? It's fun to start fresh with a new 'canvas'! Have fun!

Phoenix, AZ

Love the peaceful look of your garden and appreciate your "dream".

Seems cottage gardens often have welcoming pathways. I can visualize a path from the street to the front door, an arbor, plantings. I can see diverting the pathway to a seating area close, under the tree. At the intersection of the street to house pathway and the seating area I'd expand to the right to include a raised planted area. Perhaps with a birdbath or tall architectural shrub.