Corkscrew is Blooming!!

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

It began to open, a few days ago...

Thumbnail by melvatoo
Mesa, AZ(Zone 9b)

Boy, I'm no expert on the corkscrew, but those look for all the world like hyacinth bean vine buds.

Alvin, TX(Zone 9a)

Yeah - are you sure those are Corkscrew? Mine just started budding and looks nothing like that ... see http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/758688/ for more information.

To me, the leaves don't even look like the Vigna Caracalla (corkscrew). The shape is different.

This message was edited Aug 30, 2007 11:28 AM

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

I know, I know...I have come to the same conclusion...they were IDed here by...no, I won't mention names...it is pretty, but not a Corkscrew, Bummer!!

Mesa, AZ(Zone 9b)

ID'ing young seedlings can be difficult when so many from the same family look very similar. It's ultimately up to the owner of the seedling to decide if the ID is correct or not if for no other reason than that they have the plant and can see it more clearly than can someone thru a pic on the forum. Often a plant has to come into bloom before a correct ID can be made :o{

Alvin, TX(Zone 9a)

Sorry ... hopefully you're not too let down with the blooms! Post pics when they develop!

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

I am very disappointed...but it is still pretty!

Mesa, AZ(Zone 9b)

I'd be waaay disappointed.

Pinellas Park, FL(Zone 9b)

Hi Melva,
Here is what the buds should look like.

Thumbnail by budgielover

As they open

Thumbnail by budgielover

After buds open

Thumbnail by budgielover

Melva,
Did you start it from seed or get a plant?

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

Seed, I must have planted about 25 seed and I don't think I have a single plant...all the ones I have, are the Hyacinth Bean...

Would you like a few seeds or a plant for postage?
Jan

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

That would be wonderful! Can we wait until spring?

Yep, Just remind me.

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

Thank you!

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)