Do I have to have a bin

Gilmer, TX(Zone 8a)

Ya'll have answered all my questions, but I seem to always have another.

I don't have my compost in a bin. When I first started one in January, I went out back, dug a big hole and started it. It seems to be doing fine. I turned it yesterday, but I was worried if all the good stuff would just leach into the ground around it. However, I guess even the bins are sitting on dirt with no bottom, right?

Also, there was a iron bathtub, you know like they have in really old houses. Anyway, the legs are gone, but I started a pile in it. There of course is a drain, so the compost isn't sitting in water. Is this ok.

St. Louis County, MO(Zone 5a)

I don't know if it is okay because i'm just a beginner, but I love the idea of planting flowers in the tub next spring. How cool! Make sure it is where you want it before you fill it because i'll bet it weighs a ton filled up.

Gilmer, TX(Zone 8a)

It weighs a ton empty, so it would probably take an army to move it.

It's sitting in the woods right behind the house in a little clearing, so I'm going to use it there. I'll probably be the only one seeing it, but that's ok.

What would you plant in it? I guess I'll need something that will hang over it as well as stuff in the middle

I also have an old rusted wheel barrow so I want to plant that too.. Only problem
is that the wheels are gone, but I still love it. So, I'm making compost in it too.

Kernville, CA

With a lot of materials, I just put it about 12" under my garden soil, and it is decomposed in 4-6 months. I turn it with a shovel, and it mixes with the soil and creates a beautiful loam.. I started doing this, because I live in a hazardous wildfire area, and compost piles have started fires around here.

Crozet, VA