My new raised bed :)

Fern Park, FL(Zone 9b)

This is my first attempt at vegetable gardening (other than helping my mom as a kid). I'm really excited!

My bed is 3' x 12' and 1' tall. The wood is cedar. The grid (square foot gardening) is just nylon string from Home Depot. We set nails every foot and tied the string to each of the nails and then hammered the nails in to hold the string nice and snug and then trimmed off the excess string. I'm pretty happy with the way it turned out. We only had one minor mishap while building. One of the beds was almost full of nice fluffy dirt when our 7 month old golden retriever decided to jump INTO the bed and chase the rake I was using! This caused one of the 12' boards to bow out a lot, so we had to move all the dirt from the board and hammer in some support stakes. Needless to say I get quite nervous now when the dog is anywhere near the beds. We'll probably end up putting a small fence around both beds.

It took us all weekend to install the beds, so we just finished everything last night. This is what I put into the bed today:
brown & red bell peppers (seeds)
tarragon (plant)
marjoram (plant)
oregano (plant)
cumin (seeds)
thyme (seeds)
watermelon (seeds)
marigold & nasturtium (seeds)
broccoli (seeds)
lavender (plant)
3 types of mint: spearmint, chocolate, and pipeapple (plants)
bunching onions (seeds)
rosemary (plant)
sage (plant)
chives (plant)
borage (seeds)
basil (plant)
parsley (plant)

This is what I'm adding to the beds in Sept. and Oct.:
leeks, garlic, cucumber, kale, cauliflower, snow peas, spinach, carrots, red & golden beets, cabbage, lettuce, & tomatoes.

I'll post updates when things start happening :)

Thumbnail by passiflora07
Fern Park, FL(Zone 9b)

My husband with the culprit :)

Thumbnail by passiflora07
Kernville, CA