Who Grows Heleniums?

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

I started growing Heleniums because they really add color to my garden at a time I need it badly. By August most of the daylilies are almost over and it's nice to have some bright patches of color. I have 5 cultivers and would like to add a few more if anyone is interested in a Spring Trade. Copperlia is one of my earlier ones and starts in mid July. It is in full bloom now. Coppery red fades a little with age. It is about 3" tall.

Thumbnail by lincolnitess
Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

This one is Zimbelstem and is taller at about 4' and blooms later. About a week before it will be in full bloom. It is golden with splashes of mahogany.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Zelbelstern

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Flammades Kathchen in a henna red with burnt orange/gold and brown centers. About 4.5' tall for me.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Red and Gold is about 5' tall for me.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

This is my first year to grow Marti Gras and it is only about 24" tall. Suppose to grow 36-40", so maybe next year it will be taller. The bugs seem to like the blooms on this one so I could not get a very good photo.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Here is Coppelia in the garden.

Beautiful blooms in the garden....

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

And Flammandes Kathchen with Oranges and Lemons gaillardia, Zowie zinnia and some daylilies.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Coppelia is in front of the arbor to the front and Zelbelstern is the taller one behind it.

Shenandoah Valley, VA

lincolnitess, where do you find all these heleniums?! I love them. I wish I had enough to trade with you. I only have one I planted last year and it hasn't spread.

surfside beach, SC(Zone 8b)

I love the "look" of your garden.I can't get my Gaillardias and zowie to spread that much.How many plants do you use in each spot?I started all of mine from seed.Do you also?

I have to add heleniums.It seems like there is alot of oranges and yellows this time of year.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)