Stevia?

Round Lake, IL(Zone 5a)

Hello...was wondering if anyone grows this. I hear it can be used as a substitute for sugar (?). Can someone confirm or deny this....and then, how can I get a hold of this little gem?

Wentworth, SD(Zone 4a)

I can't help you with the name right now, but I have a catalog at home that has stevia in it along with a book of recipes. I will look when I get home and if no one else has an answer, I will give you the info.

MD &, VA(Zone 7b)

Stevia can be used as a sugar substitute, or so I've been told. We experimented with it a bit in one of my horticulture classes, just the teeniest tiniest bit is overwhelmingly sweet, but in my opinion left an awful after taste. I have never used it in recipes but know people have. I know someone out there will have lots of info. I have seen it offered by quite a few herb companies, try doing a search on the net.

Chatham-Kent, ON(Zone 6a)

I have been growing it and using it for the last 7 years . It is easy to start from cuttings if you can locate a plant ; usually you can find a local grower dabbling in it . Seeds do not germinate very well so cuttings are the way to go . STEVIA ; zero calories and regulates blood sugar ...what more can you ask ?? ...used for a 1000 years by the SA Native people .

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

Stevia is said to be 300 times sweeter than sugar. It's used, primarily, in two forms: crushed dried leaves, or a synthesized white powder.

In Japan it's been a staple sweetener in diet softdrinks and such for many years. It is supposed to be a good sugar substitute for diabetics.