Still confused about my onions... AND leeks

Brimfield, MA(Zone 5a)

This is my first year growing onion starts. Should I pick them when they start popping out of the ground, or do I leave them there so the roots make them larger???? I thought maybe I should pick them when they break ground, but some were disapointingly little when I did that, which made me think I did something wrong.

This is also my first year growing leek starts. How do you know when to pull up leeks? Do I just wait until early September in zone 5 to give them their days? They are Lancelots. Is there a way to look at leeks and know it is okay to dig them up?

Thanks for your help!!!

Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

Oh, boy! I need to know the answer to the leek question, too.

As far as the onions, from what I understand, they grow above ground, so you just leave them until they are the size you want, or until they stop growing. (It will be interesting to see if i remember correctly from what I've read!)

I am soooo loving the home grown onions and shallots. i had no idea they wouldbe so much fun to grow.

So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

I leave my leeks in the ground even through winter, until I need to use some. Certain varieties over-winter better than others, and of course hilling dirt up around them as they grow gives you more white part. I start mine in a trench about 6-8" deep and fill in an inch or so at a time as they grow.

Saylorsburg, PA(Zone 6a)

While you can use onions at any stage of growth I harvest them in the fall when the stems fall over and dry up. I then pull the onions and let them dry, cut off the stems and store them in a 5 gallon bucket in the cellar to enjoy all winter.
Last year I planted leek for the first time in many years and was able to harvest large bulbs in October. The leek isn't growing as well this year so I may see how it winters over if it isn't large by the end of September and October.

Brimfield, MA(Zone 5a)