Seeds

Cramlington, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

These seeds are from a pod on my 'Exotica'. I hadn't intended to propagate this way but seeing other posts I thought I'd give the seeds a try.

I floated these in water just a couple of days ago and already roots are visible!

Thumbnail by kniphofia
Cramlington, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

I just put them in some fresh water and photographed this one before I put it root side down.

Thumbnail by kniphofia
Braselton, GA(Zone 7b)

Once mine got roots I put them into growing medium and they really took off. I tried several ways of planting and have just put my 50 "bulbs" into their own pots...with the help of my grandchildren. The ones I put into egg crates seemed to have grown larger than the ones planted in pots or unseparated places. I have no idea if this is normally the case or not...this is my first year doing these....BUT I took the clear egg trays that have the clear covers and punched holes into the bottom eggies and plant a seed into each compartment, then I folded the top over and taped it shut to make a nimi green house...it worked great for mine. If you know what they are then I would write on the plastic with water proof sun proof pen and on some other type of marker that cold be tape to the container. I didn't know which ones most of mine were, but I did get five nice sized ones using Charisma as the pod parent and Red Pearl Pollen...I am just so excite about these babies!!! Good luck!!

Robertstown, Australia(Zone 10a)