Seeking ID

Coquitlam, BC(Zone 7b)

Hello all!
I'm pretty new to davesgarden and to gardening in general. I'm beginning to understand that ID'ing a Japanese Maple might be difficult, but perhaps someone here could offer some insight on this tree.

The pictures I have are of the leaves only. The tree belongs to my neighbor. He has no idea what it is as it was there when he moved in. It is a young tree and upright. Right now it reaches 7 feet. It easily grew a foot this year. He has it in full sun. The spring foliage is an extremely bright pink-red. The summer foliage has now settled down to a purple-orange-red. The difference between this red-leafed tree and the other trees on my street is that this one has more orange than purple so that it hardly looks like it has purple at all. It is gorgeous. I often find myself staring at it through a window. I don't remember seeing a JM that can compete with the red of this tree. The sun shines through it and it glows like fire. I would love to have it in my backyard so I can stare at it with abandon. ;) From what I've read, it sounds like a Fireglow. The nurseries I've visited don't have it in stock so I can't compare.

What do you think?

Thumbnail by MoogleTree
Coquitlam, BC(Zone 7b)

This is it under light. Although my light is more orange, you can get a feel for the brilliance I see in this tree throughout the day.

Thumbnail by MoogleTree
Newport News, VA(Zone 7b)

Beautiful, that would attract my eye too! Can't help the ID, but it could be Fireglow as I've seen them locally and in the sunlight they certainly do glow.

Laura.

Coquitlam, BC(Zone 7b)