Ginkgo biloba 'Ross Moore'

Niles, MI(Zone 5a)

Is anyone else growing this tree? If so, what is your experience with it? When I ordered it I had doubts about it's pendulous nature, thinking it would be more like 'pendula' with more of a horizontal habit. NOT so. This baby weeps. I've been staking it for 4 years now. From 18 inches to now -------->9 feet! Many side branches that hang down beautifully. I severely pruned off the lower branches this spring as they were crawing on the ground. The base of the trunk is thick as a broom stick but it's soooo wobbily up to the 4 foot mark. I'm wondering if anyone has an older specimen and when their's gained enough strength to stand alone. I hate the stakes.

thanks!

Holland, OH(Zone 5b)

I don't have it, but this image might be helpful.

http://www.pendulousplants.com/images2/Ginkgo%20Ross%20Moore%20copy.jpg

Right now I have two Chris's Dwarfs, each from a different nursery, planted mid summer 2006. They display completely different growth habits. One is shrubby with multiple branches and this year had six inches of branch growth. The other is a single trunk, heavily leafed with no side limbs and the top bud grew straight up about two inches. Both are grafts. They are in the ground, not pots, and have unrestricted room. This is going to be fun to watch. I'm going to tuck yearly photos in the garden journal. I guess it comes down to who was weilding the grafting knife.

Niles, MI(Zone 5a)

That's my tree! I sent it to Pendulous Plants and they asked if they could use it. I have to send them a picture of it this year. I am also documenting all my trees' growth each year. Should be interesting...

thanks....

todd

Holland, OH(Zone 5b)

Oh for heaven's sake! Well, you do grow nice specimens.

Mary

Niles, MI(Zone 5a)

Thanks.....I try....

Niles, MI(Zone 5a)

Here's a new image of it. I measured it at 9' 4".

Thumbnail by dybbuk
Holland, OH(Zone 5b)