Help! Just ruined a brand new raised bed...

Savannah, TN(Zone 7a)

Ok...I'm an admitted beginner at all this gardening stuff. And I really, really messed up! I'm hoping someone has some ideas on how to salvage this mess, cause it cost a lot of money and hard work to get it going.

To start I built my first "experimental" 4' x 8' x 12" raised bed from old 2" x 6" boards that I had laying around the shop. I built it 2 layers deep. This is standard lumber, not treated.( I realize it will rot in a few years but have already purchased a load of cinder blocks to do more beds with.) I covered the bottom with some fine hardware cloth as we definitely have moles/voles around the area. I then decided to use cardboard to line the bottom so that it would decompose thoroughly, but hopefully be a weed barrier in the meantime. I then proceeded to put in the soil in a kind of layered fashioned as listed below:

1) 5 bags of topsoil
2) 2 bags of topsoil/4 bags of hardwood mulch- raked and mixed together
3) 3 bags of topsoil
4) 5 bags of Miracle Gro Garden Mix on the top.

I then proceeded to transplant 3 groupings of carrots, okra and jalepeno peppers into the bed which had been suffering trying to grow in our hard red clay soil in the backyard.

I watered vigorously as it's 92 degrees here in the daytime and we've been in a drought for awhile now. Everything seemed to be going fine, over the next 3 or so weeks. None of the plants died and the carrots even sprouted new tops. The okra and jalepenos just wouldn't grow, they'd put out new leaves and flowers and then just kind of drop them and start over.