Onions

Brimfield, MA(Zone 5a)

Today when I was looking over me veggies beds, I was surprised to notice that one of my onions was halfway out of the ground and exposed. I decided to pull it out because it's my first time growing them and I was curious. Well, it is about the size of the ones you get in a bag at the supermarket and it looks good enough to eat right now. Do onions have to be cured before you can eat them, or only if you are storing them? I'd like to put this one in a roast tomorrow night.

Central, ME(Zone 5a)

I eat them whenever I need an onion.... Curing is necessary for storing if you are going to keep them for later eating.

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

Why be surprised? Onions grow mostly above ground. The very bottom of the bulb is where the roots are. =)

cyndiehook is correct about the curing. Only necessary if you're planning on storing them for any length of time.

Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

I was surprised when I first swa them that way, too. Like, uh-oh! What'd I do wrong now! Sure are fun to pick and eat, though. It's been a great experience, and they will definitely be repeaters in my gardens!

Rome, GA(Zone 7b)

Same here. I even tried to put a few of them 'back' in the ground. Took me awhile to realize they were doing what they were supposed to.

Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

LOL! Makes ya feel kind of silly when it sinks in, huh?

Rome, GA(Zone 7b)

Totally. Plants are more complex in a lot of ways than people and someone neglected to tell me that in 18 years of school and 4 years of college. In the last year I have read that no one understands to this day how a plant uses Chlorophyl to turn sunlight into stored energy and that fact alone just baffles me. You'd think we'd devote some time/attention to that...

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

This message was edited Jul 18, 2007 4:01 PM

Rome, GA(Zone 7b)

This message was edited Jul 18, 2007 12:40 PM

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

This message was edited Jul 18, 2007 4:01 PM

Pelzer, SC(Zone 7b)