Fall hosta coop?? Interested???

Virginia Beach, VA

I am in communication with a member who can coodinate this and will call vendors. She said it will be limited participants so we want to know who is interested.I am very much interested so by spring they will be big. Sign in!!!! The number of participants is the coordinator's call. Thank you, Bellie

Oquawka, IL(Zone 5a)

Bellie,

How late in the fall? I have never done a fall planting, so not sure how late you are talking. I might be interested if it's not too late. I'm not very good at watering and tending to stuff after Sept!

Virginia Beach, VA

Right now I do not know but the vendor will determine when is the best time. I would think Octoberso it will not be too cold, the ground is still manageable. They will be multiple eyes in spring and I am excited!!! Bellie

Oquawka, IL(Zone 5a)

Okay, I will keep an eye on this thread!

Rome, GA(Zone 7b)

YES! YES! YES! I am definitely interested in a hosta coop!

MANSFIELD, AR(Zone 7a)

I am interested!

Oquawka, IL(Zone 5a)

You all have much warmer Oct. than I do. Is there anybody further north that has done the fall coops? Is Oct. too late for Central Ill.? Not sure that they would have time for roots to develop enough for winter freeze....Anybody else in my zone with experience?

Thanks,
Rose

Bettendorf, IA

If it is with Shady Oaks I would be interested. Likely not with another vendor

Boxford, MA(Zone 6a)

Rose, Fall is my fav. time to garden. You can plant until the ground is frozen- I've been caught planting bulbs up until Dec.!
We think of the earth being cold in winter, but it's only the top 4-6". Underneath, the ground is warm (the deeper you go, the warmer it gets- geothermal heating) so perennials can grow roots all winter (unless it's unusually cold). That's why I love snow so much- it insulates and everything is so much bigger the next spring!

How does a co-op work?

Lula, GA

Bellie

I'm interested, also.