Tis the Season...of the Coneflower

Finger Lakes, NY(Zone 6a)

I took a quick walk through my gardens and the echinaceas are in in their glory. I thought I might share a few.

Thumbnail by rsquared
(Zone 3b)

Is that Orange Meadowbrite in the forefront? Love it. This is my first year with it and I hope it comes back in zone 3b next year. Lost two Pixie Meadowbrites over the bad winter and was heartbroken, but that didn't stop me from buying three more. I just love coneflowers.

Razzmatazz

Thumbnail by rsquared

White Swan

Thumbnail by rsquared

yes plus the 2 oranges in the background

Rose

Pixie Meadowbright

Thumbnail by rsquared

Lilliput

Thumbnail by rsquared

Fatal Attraction

Thumbnail by rsquared
Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Very nice photos Rose. How does Lilliput compare to Pixie?

Lilliput is awesome at only 10" to 12" tall while Pixie is taller than I expected. In my garden i have 2 Pixies and they are 26" and 30" tall (nice, but I was looking for a shorter variety too.)

Pixie has more flowers this year, but I like the form and height of Lilliput, but I never met a echinacea I didn't like. I went on a coneflower frenzy about 2 or 3 years ago. I got Razz from England before most around here and I was hooked.

I have not had good luck with only one or two...like Sunset, while Sunrise is doing fine...go figure. I have so many most of my neighbors can not even believe some are coneflowers.

Last year my obsession was heuchera and this year seems to be hostas. I must say that this obsession is not very painful for my neighbors. They all covet my gardens. To me it is a labor of love.

Rose

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

I've had Razz a few years. Have you seen Little Giant in person?

Garner, NC(Zone 7b)

Rose,
Lions and Tigers and Bears, oh my! I tend to get onto different plant obsessions, too. But, whatever it happens to be at the moment, it all bites me in the wallet;-))) I guess being broke makes me the happiest!