Butterflies in My Garden Today!

Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

Hello Butterfly Friends,

I've been a bit of a lurker on this forum for awhile. I didn't have a good camera and really had a lot to learn.

Thanks to Fly_Girl and all of her private advice and expertise, I have been raising monarchs and swallowtails for a few months. DH even built me a BF cage, thanks to her teachings. I've had more butterflies than I can count and I now have a decent camera to share.

So, these are the pictures of butterflies in my yard, just today! Actually, the caterpillar pictures are from yesterday (I'm learning this new camera). But all of the BF's are from only today. I had a purple hairstreak show up a few days ago.....wish he could have joined the party today.

So, I just wanted to share my new hobby with all of you!

Here's one of many GF cats on my passion vine:

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

The following 3 pictures are the beautiful adult GF's doing their things!

This message was edited Jul 10, 2007 12:51 AM

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

Well, for some reason, the pictures aren't posting. I'll keep trying!

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

Whew....thought I had a ghost in my machine. Next GF pic!

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

OK....Swallowtail caterpillar! He was mad...see the horns?

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

Now, a pretty adult Swallowtail on my mexican bauhinia! Love the BF and love the flowers!

This message was edited Jul 10, 2007 12:59 AM

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

And here's a pretty sulphur (I haven't found any cats for this one yet).

Thumbnail by knolan
Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

Last but not least, the glorious monarch. I didn't have a good camera back when I had cats (I sure wish I had then but they've been laying eggs).

Thumbnail by knolan
Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)