Is my 6am-1pm sun area "partial shade" or "full sun"?

Raleigh, NC

I am TOTALLY new to gardening. I read in one book that areas that receive 6 hours of sun is "full sun" but another book specified that "full sun" refers only to sun during the hours of 10am-4pm. So is my yard "partial sun"? Or "light shade"? Any help is appreciated, for I am confused.

Hanover Twp., PA(Zone 6a)

Every book is a little different. But plants like to be in a little shade in the hot afternoon. You have the perfect garden. Enjoy. Remember plants can't read what we write about them so long as their happy..............

Raleigh, NC

Do you think that full sun plants would be happy there? I would like to plant vegetables, flowers, and herbs.

hickory, NC(Zone 7a)

6 hours is considered full sun so i would say yeah go for it and that is perfect too because the morning sun is the best i think
good luck keep us posted how they do

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Not enough sun for vegetables I think but you could always try. So much of the 'partial shade' determination depends on the individual plant and even the individual cultivar. It's always an experiment. I can grow dahlias in that much sun and less for instance. Some hostas are burnt in sun until 10:00 and some can stand the mid day sun. It takes some trial and error.

Another thing is that things can take less sun in the south than in the north.

I'd ask about it at your good local garden store.

I know. As clear as mud.

Leesburg, FL(Zone 9b)

what is the exposure? [S,E or W]

since i do not have room for a full garden... i plant my tomatoes on the south side... that way they get the most sun
my front, eastern exp, some plants require 'part sun' and i'm finding they get too much of the HOT sun, and are not doing well, so i need to move them to the north side.

So, i also think it depends on the plant.