why is it?

Crozet, VA

I have never worked with iris before now. I have had a few bloom for me this year. What needs to be done now that the blooms are spent? I have seen a lot of people cutting the stems about half way back on ones that have been dug up. Do they need to be cut back if still in the ground? I am sure that this is about the most basic iris question there is, but please remember I have no previous experience with the beautiful plants and would like to have them do well next year.

Thank you for any and all advice.

Ruby

Willamette Valley, OR(Zone 8a)

Ruby, I usually cut the stems back on mine just because I don't like the way they look. As for the leaves, I don't do anything with them unless they start to turn brown....then I just pull them off.

Belfield, ND(Zone 4a)

Like mgh, I cut off the spent bloomstalks because I don't like the looks of them. I do the same with tulips, daylilies, and hostas. I think leaving the foliage is important though, as it continues to feed the rhizome. I don't remove the iris foliage until after we have several hard freezes in the fall.

When you speak of cutting them back halfway on ones that have been dug up, this is usually done when one is going to transplant or ship them. It does make them easier to ship, and due to the fact that we usually plant iris rhizomes very shallow, not having all the excess foliage to tip them over helps too, since they aren't yet rooted in and have a good foothold.

Lake Toxaway, NC(Zone 7a)

I only cut the leaves off if they are getting brown spots or just look bad. I'm sure the leaves feed the rhizome to make a bigger and better bulb and induce babies growing off the parent rhizome.
JoanJ is right. Newly planted rhizomes could be tipped over and out of the ground with a little wind unless the leaves are cut back at first. The leaves are so broad and long that they catch a lot of wind and can uproot the whole rhizome exposing the roots.

Crozet, VA