Heat & drought resistant clematis?

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)

Hi all,
I'm new to the clematis forum, although I've been a fan of the vines for years. I live out in Tucson where it's too hot and dry for any of the "traditional" clematis to make it. However, I was just at my favorite nursery and they had some new French hybrid Clematis viticella plants (in all sorts of glorious colors), which are supposed to be more tolerant of our local conditions.

I'm wondering if anyone's tried growing any of these new hybrids, particularly in hot dry locations? I'd love to know if they are a real improvement, or just some clever marketing to take advantage of eternally optimistic gardeners... :)

Thanks!

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Sorry that no one has gotten back to you. Viticellas are one of the easier clematis to grow but none are drought resistant. I have Negritianka against a south facing wall and it does very well but of course it's not as dry here. Etoile Rose grows pretty well here but it does tend to mildew if I don't use the Messenger. Etoile Violette is a better choice.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)

Thanks, doss--I appreciate the feedback! I'm not in a big hurry to do anything, I refuse to dig holes in this heat and dry. So, until the rains start, I'm just dreaming of blooming things!

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Ah, dream away. My Etoile Rose is blooming right now and it's lovely.

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)

Jill:

Regardless of which Clematis you choose for your garden, Fall would be the best time to plant them in your garden. Doss, is correct in suggesting the Viticellas (Group 3) because they are resistant to Clematis Wilt. No Clematis is drought tolerant. You'll need to mulch and keep your Clematis well watered. They should give you at least 3 seasons of bloom in your growing zone.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)