Pole Beans growing to Much?

Bartlett, IL(Zone 5a)

I'm kind of new at gardening . I bought some cages for pole beans and some have reached the top and have stems growing about 2 feet longer with no place to go but back down. Should I cut off the long stems or just leave them go?

Thumbnail by DaveWo
Pelzer, SC(Zone 7b)

Hi DaveWo
My pole beans have climbed up a nine foot (or so) fence, and have another four or five feet of vine coming back down. I'm leaving them be, since they have flowers and will have beans. At least I'll be able to reach those without a ladder.....
Margo

Vicksburg, MS(Zone 8a)

My pole beans always exceed their fence and, like catmad, I leave them. I don't think you can get a fence tall enough for pole beans that are growing right. And, the good thing is, this shows you've done things right since your beans are growing so good! Congratulations. "Too tall" is sooo much better than too short, lol.

Bartlett, IL(Zone 5a)

Thank you for the replies. I wasn't sure what to do. I'll just leave them grow and see what happens.

Dave

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

In the future, you could have a horizontal bar between two of your bean towers; this allows the bean plant to stretch across and makes picking the (hanging) beans very easy. You should be proud of your plant.

Here's my bean setup (this pic is from shortly after planting). The beans will eventually cover the whole thing.

Thumbnail by Zeppy
Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

Excellent Zep - How tall are your poles?

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

I think 8 feet. I ordered them bulk from a wholesale bamboo place, and I use them for lots of other stuff too.

Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

Very nice. I use them, too, and I think that's about the size I have. I bought a bamboo blade to cut them down to shorter lengths, but have never had the opportunity to use it. They sell the short ones at the dollar store 20 for $1, so there's just no need!

Libby, MT(Zone 4b)