fertilizing iris during the summer

Decatur, GA

Do I fertilize my iris in the summer? They had a hard time this spring (that late frost) but mostly came through ok. I am giving them a lot of water as we are having a severe drought right now (I live in Atlanta). I want to make them stronger but don't know if now is the time to feed. And if I fed, would it be something like 20-20-20-? Or is there special iris food? Ok, I'm really new to this.
Any input would be appreciated.
Best,
Ann

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

Ann, I am currently dealing with an overfertilization problem in my garden that may take years to correct, so I will STRONGLY advise you NOT to add any fertilizer to your garden without first having a soil test run to verify the need. Your local garden center, feed store, or state extension agent will be able to tell you how to submit a soil sample for testing.

Overfertilizing can poison both your soil and your plants, so you are much safer to err on the side of underfertilizing. You can always apply more fertilizer if a soil test identifies the need, but you can't remove it if you inadvertantly apply too much.

Test first, then fertilize if necessary.

Laurie

Decatur, GA

Thanks Laurie-
I have since read on the Schreiners Garden site that I should wait till September to fertilize and that I should probably use more bone meal. Also, I may be watering too much. I can do the soil test (I had a garden in collage and we did soil tests) but would a hygrometer do almost as well-am I checking for the ph of the soil?
best,
Ann

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

A soil test will check pH as well as phosphorous and potassium levels in the soil. Other tests may be run, as well, but you'd have to check with the lab to see exactly what they check during their soil analysis.

Don't add bone meal (phosphorous) until you know that your soil needs it. High phosphorous can cause significant problems in plants.