Adenium is blooming

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

My adenium bonsai is blooming, at last. So far I haven't been brave enough to do anything but raise the caudex above the soil line.

Thumbnail by allgr8dogs
Central, AL(Zone 7b)

I'm just a novice to the art. Though, I love this adenium and have collected them for quite some time now. In year past. I pampered them and kept them sheltered. Then I ran into a Phillipino lady. She smiled and told me: "It's native to my country" they flourish outdoors...." since then, I kept these outside. They blooms lavishingly all summer. I bring them indoors for the winter ofcourse.

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

i have one that i keep outdoors year round, but those that are in bonsai pots i bring in for the cold weather. the adenium in this picture stays out year round. here i AZ, i have to give them some shade as our intense heat plus intense sunshine are too much.

This message was edited Jun 23, 2007 8:28 AM

Thumbnail by allgr8dogs
Central, AL(Zone 7b)

Those are fine specimens! I love them. Thanks for sharing.

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

i daydream of someday moving to Alabama - I have family there (my cousin Mark George, as fine a true gentleman as has ever walked the earth)

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

It's beautiful here, and yes, the gentlemen Alabama has plenty of. I've one of my own, I know. :-)

Thumbnail by Lily_love
Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

what a beautiful place!

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

Thank you,
We're very fortunate to have this view in our backyard. In the weekend, we can just go out there and watching sailing boats. Reading books, and for me, learning more about bonsai's arts.

Central, AL(Zone 7b)

Here is some of my Adenium....(Not a bonsai ~ yet).

Thumbnail by Lily_love
Chino, CA

i cant believe anywhere in our country the sun would be more intense than in africa (at least the obtusa variety) where they come from. even as babies i leave them outside in the socal sun all day.. they just eat it up.