help with a lawn mower

Framingham, MA(Zone 6a)

oh you guys that cut your own grass .... I need to get a lawn mower... I am thinking of a push reel one... loke the old days... no more electric or gas stuff... my motto now is "I want to save the planet!"... everyone laughs when I say that... what should I get??? can't find one at Sears, HD or Lowes.... only online... but since I have never used one before I need advice... also I need a trimmer.... I have way too much to do... but I want to take care of my grass... not that I really like grass... but I was just looking at how much I am spending on landscaping and it seems too much.... ($40 week.... 4Xmonth X at least 5 months $800.00 plus $500. spring cleaning, $265 for lawn treatment.... grass is more expensive then plants!!!! with all this money I can buy way more plants!!!!)

so help me.... give me your suggestions!!!!

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

Advertise on Freecycle for a push mower - I bet you will have lots of choices of free ones! If you don't like a puch mower afterall - nothing lost - you can put it back on Freecycle and recycle it. I got a free one from a neighbor and it is soooo much better than trying to start the gas powered mower. Of course the only lawn I have is 24' x 20'. LOL The blades have to be kept sharp - the one I have sharpens itself as I mow - and you need to keep the grass short or it is really hard to keep the reel from being jammed up. It is good exercise!

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

If you have a lot of grass to cut you might re-think the pusher. Also, do they mulch the grass well enough? If not, you'll have a mess that you're going to have to rake up. And you have to be sure the grass is nice and dry.

I hear you on the cost. It is a lot. Wish I had no lawn. Maybe someday.

I don't think that the push mowers mulch at all. If you get one with a basket behind it - it will catch the clippings and they can go in the compost pile. I count the raking as more exercise - a bonus!