some basic questions

Chalfont, PA(Zone 6b)

Hi. I'm relatively new to this gardening thing, and have some basic questions. This year I bought plants at a nursery to fill my containers, but wow, was it ever expensive! Next year I'd like to try to grow my own plants from seed to try to save some money. I live in a pretty cold climate (6b), and wanted some advice. Is it best to plant the seeds in separate little plastic containers, see what grows and then transfer the plants to my containers, or do I sow them directly in the planters? Do you assume that each individual seed will give you a plant, or do you plant extra seeds assuming that some won't make it (if so, what ratio?). When do you start planting the seeds? I saw that there are lots of seeds on sale right now online. If I buy seeds now, how long can I wait until I plant them, ie - when do seeds expire? Thanks in advance.

Gilbert, AZ

I would like the answers to the same questions. Any of you GREAT and I do mean Great gardeners out there willing to give us beginners a hand.

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)

I can start you off, but I hope others will chime in.

First off, no, never sow seeds directly in the conainer -- they will drown. Yes, there are exceptions, but I still think it's a bad idea.

Decide what you want and try to see if seeds are available. I bet that some of the plants you will want are only cutting-grown and no seeds are available...things like cut leaf scented or old fashioned Martha Washington geraniums, callibrochoa, bacopa are either very limited in seeds or just not available. Not sure about Sweet potato Vines, but there is a whole thread onthem and the tubers are not easy to store over winter if the posts in that thread are anything to go by.

Once you have some selections made, see if anybody will trade with you for the seed. Things like Wave Petunias, some vertical grasses, and Bidens, among many, many others, would likely be available.