HELP! The leaves a falling off

Round Lake Beach, IL(Zone 5a)

I am new to hygrangeas and I don't know anything except the are beautiful. I bought a few plants that had blooms on it, and when the blooms started to fade I cut them off and put them in a larger pot. It's been two weeks and the leaves are drying up and falling off. They have new growth but they look so strange. They look like sticks with little green shoots. I have them on the east side so they get morning and noon sun. Is this normal?

Loren

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Loren, can you send a picture? Why did you transplant the plants, lot of stress.It's basically growing season. Hydrang. like to stay moist, not in burning in sun all day? You're in Ill, what's the temp right now (day time I mean)
Coby

Hi Coby: Today it was about 85 degrees, sunny. The plants are on my patio against the house. It gets morning and noon sun. The past few days have been humid and hot. The other day we had a bad thunderstorm that dumped over 6 inches overnight.

I transplanted them because there were in those tiny pots, flower shop size. I transplanted them into 5 gal. pots with Miracle Grow potting mix..the new type I think it was Moisture control?

Did I do a NO NO?

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

A picture would really help if you can post one. Did you have the plants in the same location before you moved them into the bigger pots? If you had them inside before or somewhere that got less sun, then it could be sunburn, whenever you're going to be moving a plant to somewhere that it gets more light it's a good idea to let it get used to it gradually, otherwise the leaves will turn pale and get crispy and sometimes fall off.

My other thought based on the large pot + the thunderstorm + the moisture control potting mix is that they've been overwatered, when that happens sometimes the plant will look a bit wilted, then the lower leaves will turn yellow, eventually the other leaves will follow but it usually starts with the lower ones.