Opinion needed please.

Browns Mills, NJ(Zone 6b)

I've been trying to ID some of my iris through PlantFiles, and I came across Caesar's Brother which looks exactly like my iris. I would like to know what you think. Also, if I get several opinions that an iris is a certain name, when is it, or is it ever O.K to give the unnamed iris that name. Who do you have to ask to verify? I am new to all this, but I do know that gardeners take the names very seriously and I don't know what the rules are. thankyou, Andrea

http://davesgarden.com/pf/showimage/41984/

Thumbnail by mygypsyrose
Oro Valley, AZ(Zone 9a)

I don't grow siberians, so I can't really say. But, it does seem to resemble it.

* Iris etiquette * :

As for giving an unknown iris a ("pretty sure it's _") certain name..........it is NOT really recommended. (Even though it may look "exactly" like the one in the pictures.)

What IS recommended is to now acquire that specific "named" iris from a reputable source and grow it side by side with the one you now have. IF and THEN it matches identically in every way ......... at that point in time you can put a name to it and trade it/sell it as THAT "named" iris.

*** Before then (if you wish to trade or sell it) be sure the other person knows - - - that you are pretty sure it's "____" but you can't verify or be certain of it's real name. (It's in all fairness to other iris grower.)

Some iris gardeners will not follow what is recommended (incorrectly putting a "real" name to an iris) and when the receiver person on the other end sees it in bloom they are disappointed - - expecting one certain "named variety" but getting something else. At that point those people can't show it in an iris show, can't sell it as that name, etc.

NOTE: However, if the other person on the receiving end does not care what the REAL name is - - then it's perfectly alright to sell or trade the irises with this understanding between the two people.

~Margie

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)