Frost-damaged Beni Komachitoo far gone?

Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

I read the recent thread on the sick Coral Bark with interest. My two-foot tall container Beni Komachi was apparently frost-damaged in our Cape Cod winter. ( Other JMs came through fine, but not this one.) There are little red leaves emerging very low on the trunk, but the branches look pretty brown and sad, and yes, about 1 inch above the cluster of leaves, each branch has the tell-tale grayish band that signals bad news. There IS a reddish cast to one of the taller branches, but this may be my wishful thinking.
Anyway, can this JM be saved, and is it worth it? I'm happy to baby it along, but I need some advice. I am a novice at all this. Thank you.
Emily

Thumbnail by CapeCodGardener
Mid-Cape, MA(Zone 7a)

Here's a shot of the entire tree. I apologize for my camera, which doesn't have a good close-up lens.

Thanks again,
Emily

Thumbnail by CapeCodGardener
Springfield, IL(Zone 6a)