Growth rate

Whiteside County, IL(Zone 5a)

Hi all,
I'm new to cannas. How much growth should I be seeing in a week, generally speaking. I planted these, for instance on April 19. It seems to me that they should be bigger than this. These are President. I planted another group a few days later and they have similar growth.

(Zone 5)
Thanks

Thumbnail by Mrs_Ed
KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

Your bigger one on the left is bigger than mine and mine have been in the ground for close to the same amount of time. I want secrets too!!!!

Yah, NO KIDDING on the secrets Pepper! I was thinking maybe more water?

Here's the others, planted on 4/23. They have slightly less sun.

Thumbnail by Mrs_Ed
(Tammie) Odessa, TX(Zone 7b)

I think they spend a lot of energy initially forming roots. Once they get going, they take off. Mine are also very slow to begin with. I have some I planted several weeks ago and they have barely broken the surface.

Tammie

I water mine all the time. lol. Now it's raining all week so hopefully they will take off. I need to beat them with streams of water to knock off bugs too when it dries out.

Well Tammie, That's good to know. I guess some more patience is what is required!

Verona, WI(Zone 4a)

No need to worry Mrs. Ed. I live in Madison, WI and mine are just starting to come up. About 1 inch! They'll really shoot off in a few weeks! PATIENCE is the key to growing cannas in the upper midwest.

Livermore, CA(Zone 9b)

I felt the same way, mine seemed to stop growing after they broke ground.... but we've had about a week of hot weather and now they have really started to grow.

Most of mine are real short, but one is almost a foot tall. Weird.

Red, Boy, that is very encouraging.

Pepper, mine too, as you can see from the pix. I'll keep you informed of mine. We just got over 3 inches of rain in less than an hour! So if moisture is the problem, it won't be now!