Heucheras in zone 9a?

Kerrville, TX(Zone 8a)

This is a very hot zone in the summer along the Gulf Coast and 30 miles inland. Is there a particular one that might grow in my area?
Thanks,
Carol

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

flowerette,
I would post your question in the Texas Forum. I know City_Sylvia lives in Dallas and I'm pretty sure she has some Heuch's. Maybe she or someone in your zone will know better than me due to my zone being so different.

Good Luck,
Kelly

(Zone 1)

Hi Carol: I live in zone 9a in East Central Florida and I have one Heuchera Plant. It gets very hot and humid here in the summer. We are already having temps in the low 90's and the humidity is creeping up too. I can just imagine what August and September will be like as those are usually our hottest months! This is my first attempt at Heuchera. I bought it in February at Home Depot and it bloomed in March. It still looks great, so I am hoping that it will survive the heat of summer! I did not plant it in the ground, but rather in a hanging basket out on my screened deck. It gets morning and early afternoon sun filtered by the screen, so I think that's why it's still alive! Later in the summer I'm sure I will have to move it to a much shadier location! I will go take a picture and include it in my next post. I'm on my laptop right now and don't have the software downloaded for my pic's so will have to come back and use the desktop machine. Back in a few minutes,

Lin

(Zone 1)

Here's a photo of my one and only Heuchera Plant! I have no idea what cultivar it is ... I just love the coloration of the leaves. If this one survives for me, I may have to get more and maybe plant some outside in the ground in a shady area!

Thumbnail by plantladylin
(Zone 1)

Carol, I think you should give one a try and see how it does in your area. I know it gets a lot hotter where you are than it does here, but if you have a very shady area, it might do okay.

Kerrville, TX(Zone 8a)