Hummingbirds "hum" because they don't know the words.

Marlborough, MA(Zone 5b)

OK, that was bad!
Now to the question. I bought a humming bird feeder. I live in a semi-urban area. lots of homes but not that far from downtown. I can put the feeder in a weeping cherry tree that contains all of my other feeders. Or I could place it in a open area in a small back yard. Where would I attract the most if any hummers? Are they around already or is it too early?
Chuck

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

http://davesgarden.com/forums/f/bbb/all/

The above is the forum for hummingbirds and butterflies. Maybe they've had the same question and you could do a search for it.

Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

LOL, you got my attention, Chuck. I'm not an expert, but I would put it somewhere else. Do you have any plants that might attract hummers? (anything with a tubular shaped flower). If so, I would hang it nearby. I got a feeder for the first time last year and hung it on a pole with a hanging basket of fuschia. I got visitors almost immediately.

I have my feeders up. I don't think it's too early. here's a link to this years hummer migration map with dates when they were first spotted. you can check your area.

http://hummingbirds.net/map.html

Good luck! jan

Thumbnail by grampapa
Sue, RI(Zone 6a)

I saw a Hummer fly through my yard two days ago. Didn't have the feeder up yet! Set it out yesterday hoping to have another fly-by!

Alfred, ME(Zone 4a)

Hummers are here in s. Maine. I would not hang the feeder next to or near the reg bird feeders. I did 1 yr. and a little male took control of everything. He would constantly harass any bird that came near the feeders as they are very territorial . As GRAM suggested near a hanging basket works well. Also in front of a window so you can watch them up close. I don't use the dye ( you don't need it ) and mix 1 part sugar to 3 parts water that has boiled when they first show up. After the first batch I mix it 1 to 4.

Have fun, kdcon