Help layering late-bloomers

Thornton, IL

I have Russian sage, asters and goldenrod that I have planted with agastache, miscanthus, Joe-pye weed, 'Chocolate' eupatorium, and 'Autumn Joy' sedum. I plan to add BES and feather reed grass this year. I really need help placing the plants to get the best effect. Thanks!

Thumbnail by PrairieGirlZ5
Springfield, OH(Zone 6a)

I've been watching this thread since you posted hoping someone creative and experienced would come along and give you their words of wisdom. That is a very pretty fence row you have there. I have in mine BES and some Meadow Sage ( about the color of your Russian Sage ) and I love the color combinations of the two together. I think from looking at your pics, maybe BES on the inside of ( more towards the center ) your tall spikey grasses. Then maybe some of the Feather Reed toward the middle if you can for more height in the middle? I'm not a designer but sounds pretty. One thing you could do is play with a scetch pad and imagine what everything would look like at maturity and pencil things out before you actually plant. Sometimes I get carried away and stuff things in because I get somewhat impatient with my very tiny garden. But I am eager to see what you decide, I think It will be lovely no matter what, because it's already very nice. Keep us posted?

Thornton, IL

Thanks cbs~ Very nice of you to say so. That sounds like a good idea. Please keep the ideas coming! I should tell you that I have removed the fountain grass on the right, but have no plans to move the miscanthus, too deeply tap-rooted.

Springfield, OH(Zone 6a)

Wow, that would be a good place for BES! What is the plant dead center, with all the pretty blooms? Just interested, I like it.......I planted my Meadow sage last fall, and I'm real happy with the way the plant looks right now. I'm real eager to see this years show now that the BES is bigger now too.

Thornton, IL