Tree Peony question

Framingham, MA(Zone 6a)

Hi - I'm hoping for some advice....
I have a small tree peony. It's about 4 years old now. Every year there are shoots from the base that resemble herbaceous peony shoots. I was not sure if it was "rootstock" or not, and pruned them. Now I'm not so sure. Each year this little tree produces two huge outstanding purple flowers, but never grows any bigger. If anyone can give me some advice, etc. I'd be grateful!
Thanks!
Tamberlin

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Try Martha Stewart's website. She loves them and grows them. Once she had an article about them in her magazine. I've had no experience at all with them. Good luck.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=tree+peony+culture&btnG=Google+Search

Here's an entire page of links to tree peony culture. I hope you find the answer to your question.

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

I had one for 2 years but it died this winter. It never flowered.

Framingham, MA(Zone 6a)

Thank you! I found the info that I needed on one of the google links. I have some work to do this fall removing the rootstock if the tree has sufficient roots....
Dave - My tree peony had some damage from our teaser spring in January and the freeze right after. This tiny plant produces the most insane flowers! My mom has great success growing them right on the coast in Maine. Hers are about 3 ft tall now. Are you going to give it another try?
Tamberlin

Worcester, MA

If you don't know this yet - prune out the sprouts that grow from the base (below the soil line). Treat them like suckers.

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

Thanks to both of you. I would like to give it another shot. They are just so beautiful.

I went to a tree peony site and was astounded at the prices: hundreds of dollars. I'm not so sure I want to plunge in at those prices.

Framingham, MA(Zone 6a)