Why no blooms this year ?

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)

I planted a pretty good sized bed of iris that were given to me last year. They did give me a modest showing of blooms last year even after being transplanted.

This year I am totally perplexed. I did not get even a single bloom this spring.

We did have the hard freeze for a couple days in April after they started showing foliage.

Could that be it ? That puzzles me though, because I see lots of others who have had lovely blooms that are close to the same zone as me, and they had a late freeze but still got lovely blooms.

I have been anxiously watching for buds to form. But now I am beginning to think the time for them to bloom is getting late and it will not happen this year. How long does their bloom season last ?

Anyone else have this happen ? I am new to growing iris, so don't know what to expect for sure. Maybe they needed to be fed ? If so, what to feed ? Maybe the late freeze ?
Maybe a combination of both ?

They weren't named or 'special', just the ordinary violet ones. If this is all there is, I'm about ready to dig them up and plant something else. Should I be more patient ?

They do get sun all day. Oh,........ and they are also in several places around the yard too, so the location dosen't seem to be it, I wouldn't think.

Thanks for any help, I'm fairly discouraged. Peggie K :(

Lake Toxaway, NC(Zone 7a)

Yes, we had the hard freeze here to after the leaves were up nicely. It got down to 15 deg. They had quite a die-back although all the leaves weren't lost on some of them. I don't know if I'll get any bloom at all this year. It looks doubtful. But make sure that your rhizomes aren't too deep. They should show above the ground.

Adrian, MO(Zone 6a)

I wouldn't give up on them so soon. Yours might be mid or late season and there's maybe an earlier blooming variety.If you just put them in last year and they bloomed, I would think that they're not overcrowed.

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)