Rosemary cuttings...

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

I never rooted these before but have a friend who has asked for a start. Can anyone give us pointers on rooting upright Rosemary. Also on trailing Rosemary? We will appreciate any info you can offer. Thx pod

Thumbnail by podster

I've heard rosemary is one herb that's very hard to root. I know that McCool did it successfully though because she started me one last year. I'll ask her what she did and get her to post. :)

Millbury, MA(Zone 5a)

Hi,

I am by no means an expert at this! As a matter of fact, I asked about it here last year and got some good advice from others.

First of all, you need to take your cuttings from the tender tips of the branches (before the stem gets "woody"). Remove the leaves/needles from the bottoms of the cuttings and dip those ends in cinnamon (good for its antibacterial qualities). I used standard seed starting trays, but I think I used potting soil rather than a seed-starter mix. Use a pencil or other implement to make a hole for your cutting (so that you don't wipe all the cinnamon off by just shoving the thing into the soil). Firm the soil around the cutting and put the clear cover over the tray to keep in some moisture. Keep an eye on the cuttings and make sure that they don't dry out. I kept them in indirect sunlight until they either "took" or died off. The best thing to do is to start out with quite a few cuttings as it is unlikely that they will all make it. Once they root and start to put on some new growth, re-pot as you usually would. After they are over the transplanting shock they will usually be much happier outdoors. My rosemary is the upright variety, but I don't know why the trailing one would require any different handling as far as taking cuttings is concerned.

Good luck!

Millbury, MA(Zone 5a)