Vines and tall plants

Santa Rosa, CA(Zone 10a)

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to gardening (just container gardening in the past) and I've always tabbed the cottage gardening pages in magazines (with the 'I want someday'...). I now live in a 1903 house in Northern California and now the I want someday is here. I'm planting perennials so that I'll see them again next year. I'm currently planting the tall layer along one fence (jasmine, climbing rose, and 3 clematis vines). For the next layer, I have foxglove, snapdragon, delphinium and centranthus. I have more room for tall plants. I would love to hear ideas of fast growing perennials and some annuals. I'm in the process of painting the garage and I'm thinking of planting green beans up the side with sweet peas mingled within. I also have seedlings that I started about a week and a half ago of 3 varieties of tomatoes and bell peppers. I have 2 sun-porches (one attached to my room and one downstairs...I love this house). I love the overgrown look and it will take until next year (I'm assuming) to become established. I have another bed that is empty that I'll need tall plants for. Any ideas of instant gratification beautiful flowers that grow fast and fill in would be great! I love the pastel flowers. Pink, lavender, yellow, coral, white, etc.
Thanks!

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)

Hey HH, Welcome to the forum!

Your house sounds wonderful. Zone 10 California probably has all sorts of options, but shrub roses and dahlias come to mind. If you go to a specialty dahlia house, you can find six footers, easily, but aso 3, 4 and 5 footers. Same with the shrub roses, although a garden center there should have what you need rather than mailorder.

Both come in the pastel colors you favor.