To tie or not to tie... that is the question!

Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)

Okay, I'm a total newbie to both gardening and Clematis. I just planted my first garden at our new house this Spring and I'm trying to make sure I do all the right things. Despite reading that Clematis can be difficult, I decided to give it a shot and put a couple of them in our yard (zone 9a). I got them from Bluestone Perennials, and although small, they seem quite healthy.

What I got was Claire de Lune, which is for partial shade, which is exactly what they have. I put a metal trellis behind them, but then covered the trellis with trellis netting, after reading that Clematis had teeny tiny little tendrils to climb with and that most regular trellis' are too fat for them to grab onto. So, they have support ready and waiting.

The question I have is whether I really need to tie the plants to the trellis / netting or not. They are quite small still, and I just go out there and tuck the the little vine around the netting every so often. Some places I'm reading state the tying is necessary. Other places don't mention it.

Should I tie the plant, or should just tucking and twining by hand be sufficient? Thanks for your help!

Oh, and any other tips for a total newbie would be greatly appreciated as well!

Hereford, TX(Zone 7a)

I never tie mine. They just latch on and do it themselves.

Darin

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

The only ones you have to tie are the herbacious ones like Durandii or Rooguchi. Clare de Lune looks as if it's not so will not need to be tied. I don't have netting on mine and they do just fine.

Adrian, MO(Zone 6a)

somewhere I read that when clematis grow they spiral, so they wrap themselves around a trellis, roses is the ones you have to peg

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Right, you do have to peg roses, but not clematis. I have a couple of mine on pillars with the metal quite far apart and they do very well.

Sugar Land, TX(Zone 9a)