WILTING HYDRANGEAS

Milwaukee, WI(Zone 5b)

I purchased three hydrangeas from a nursery about three weeks about. They all arrived in good shape. I had purchased one mop (bride blush) and two lacecap (purple tier).

The mop is doing well but the lacecap have wilting/dying leaves. They are all planted in containers and I am waiting a little longer before transplanting to avoid frost.

They are exposed to bright light and occasional direct sun. They are indoors. I am not sure if I am overwatering. But am treating all three the same.

I have contacted the nursery to see what they have to say - but wondered if anyone had any other thoughts. I am new to hydrangeas & this is my first try.

Thanks! Michele

Thumbnail by gardenshowers
Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Did you post this somewhere else but without the picture? I could swear I posted an answer before but I don't see it here. My thought on the other thread where there wasn't a picture was that it could be overwatering, but now that I see the pic I don't think that's it. It looks like some sort of fungus possibly, if that's what it is they can be spread by water splashing on the soil when you're watering from overhead, so I would try to be really careful when you're watering so that water doesn't splash back up on the plant. I would remove the leaves that look infected (it looks like there may be one whole branch that's pretty bad but others that look OK--if that's the case then you could even trim out a whole branch if it's looking pretty infected. Then I would try repotting in some fresh soil, get as much of the old soil off the roots as you can without damaging them. And even if you weren't overwatering before, do be careful about the amt of water you're giving them because if there are any little bits of fungus that are left behind, having a little excess moisture around will encourage it to come back.

Milwaukee, WI(Zone 5b)