perennials in containers, year round

Maine, United States(Zone 5b)

I'm pretty new to gardening, and was wondering about this topic- is it possible, in coastal New England, to use perennials in containers and leave them out, year round? . I have a big rock ledge in my yard and I wanted to put a good sized hypertufa container on the top of it with some shade plants- probably hosta, ferns, etc. It's a mostly dappled shady spot, and there doesn't seem to be many shade annuals that appeal to me for that spot. I used some perennials last year in other containers, but moved them into the ground at the end of the season. I'd rather not do that again, as I'm kind of running out of space in the garden. Also, space is at a premium in the garage, so moving a bunch of large containers in there for the winter is also not an option.

Is this even possible, or would the plants have no chance of surviving the winter? If it might be possible, are there some plants or small shrubs that would be better than others to try it with?

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

I would be hesitant to say yes in your climate. The roots would be pretty vulnerable to freezing. Maybe someone with cold weather experience will come along.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I live in zone 6 and so far the hosta growing in shade in large pots without protection come back every year and even increase. I would say, give them a try.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

The type of plants you want to look for are ones that are hardy to a zone or two colder than you, having things in containers effectively reduces their hardiness a bit, so things that are only hardy to your zone may not make it through the winter.

Thanks for the responses. ecrane, that was gonna be my next question- whether or not to select plants a couple zones colder...which I think hosta and ferns are. Hmm...