WILTING Hydrangeas

Milwaukee, WI(Zone 5b)

I purchased three hydrangeas from a nursery (wilkerson) and they arrived about two weeks ago by mail. One is a mop (angel blush) and the other two are lacecap (blue tier).

They arrived in fantastic shape and my mop is doing really well (new leaves emerging, green and lush). But my lacecaps are not doing well. They are wilting and many of the leaves are dying.

I am not sure if I am overwatering or doing something else wrong. I am treating all three plants the same & while the mop is thriving - the other two look like they are dying.

They are in large containers & I am hesitant to plant them outdoors yet due to the potential of a late frost in my area. (Has been known to snow in May).

Help! The lacecaps were the most expensive of the bunch. I am new to hydrangeas - so I might be doing something wrong.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Can you post some pictures? My first guess is overwatering but there are other possibilities too but it's hard to tell without a picture. I would think if you're treating them all the same the mophead would be suffering too if that were the case.

I would also contact the nursery you bought them from, if all the plants are the same size and in the same size pots and you're watering them all the same then either you just got lucky and the mophead is more tolerant of overwatering, or there was something else wrong with the lacecaps when they were sent to you.

Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

Hello, gardenshowers. Here is a tip for you on watering. Insert a finger to a depth of 3-4 inches and see how the soil mix feels: dry (you need to water), moist (do not water) or wet (you are watering too much).