GRITDIG 2007 The Competition begins!

Lincoln, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

OK, I know Lenjo will have taller stems than these, mine in the greenhouse are racing away , they must have trebled in size yesterday.

This is last years competition plant which had 3 stems, in this pic you can see 4 but there is another 3 on the other side, one has been nibbled through by a slug/snail. There could be more, there is a lush self-set Delosperma covering the others giving cover to slimy creatures in the night (no, I don't mean contestants!). This is going to be foundation lifting stuff!

Yesterday's pic, now let's see yours my friends!

Thumbnail by wallaby1
Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

I am a newbie to dahlias...what is GRITDIG? Tamara

Hi zone5girl, GRITDIG is a race we had last year to see who grew the tallest Dahlia imperialis, or/and get flowers.

This link is for the last leg of the competition

http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/657794/#top

Boxford, MA(Zone 6a)

I'm a latecomer to the GRITDIG race. I haven't even had my plant delivered yet!!!
I think there shouls be a GRITDIG sticky- or maybe a DI forum!
I have a stupid question... do you need to stake a DI? If so, I think I have some scaffolding in the basement.

Better hurry up Jax, the race is on! A sticky would be great, dare you ask??

I put canes around mine with string tied around the canes when they were young and tender but they soon toughen up. Strong winds may do damage at that crucial stage.

Mount Angel, OR(Zone 8a)

Jax, I have never staked mine. It is really amazing how big the stalk eventually get. I have last year's dead stalks still reaching to the sky out next to the new shoots. The biggest one must be close to 2 inches in diameter.

Wallaby, I have been covering mine up at night fearful of a late frost. I think the tallest of the 4 stalks is maybe 5 inches tall. We have got some warmer weather coming so I will be anxious to see this baby grow.

Issaquah, WA(Zone 7a)