Rabbit Poo

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

I'm going to try very hard not to ask a bunch of questions that I can answer with a google search. I have been doing some research on my own but.....

I've just begun building a compost pile (which in itself is not really true. I've just begun saving scraps the last couple of months and have yet to build the actual pile) so I'm really a newbie at this. I was out tonight socially when a fellow mentioned that he raises rabbits Without missing a beat I asked "can I have some manure?" LOL I bet he thought I was a real ditz, having only met the man 15 minutes prior to my request.

Anyway he said I could most certainly have some manure and asked where I lived. I now have visions of waking up to a huge mound of bunny doo on my front lawn. I'm not sure why I felt compelled to relate that whole story when all I'm really wanting to ask is how much manure DO I want? And are there different benefits to different kinds?

Thanks in advance,
La

San Francisco Bay Ar, CA(Zone 9b)

Not to worry la.......lots of bunny folks get propositioned by gardeners. :)
How much do you want? How big is your yard/garden? Bunny poo is great because you can mix it right in.

North West, OH(Zone 5b)

Thanks for answering mermaid. :)

I garden several areas on about 1/2 acre. First I want to clarify....are you saying that I can mix the manure right into the soil, or do you mean that I can mix it right into the compost pile? In either case how much do I want to use proportion-wise?

Thanks again. I sure appreciate advice from those with experience.
La

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

You can put it right into the garden soil. It won't burn like chicken poo.

Zeppy answered your first question. As to how much to put in, well that depends on how much nitrogen you need in your soil.