Yellow squash - possible disease?

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Hi everyone - I am a novice veggie gardener, and this is my first time growing squash (yellow crookneck hybrid - nothin fancy!). I have six plants in an EB, and man, are they huge!! I've never actually *seen* squash's growth habits, so I'm not sure what to check for... First off they're spreading all over - a couple of the trunks are growing almost horizontally - is this normal? Also, the thickest part of the plants' trunks are a purplish color - but fades progressively greener the further the stalk gets from the soil line - is THAT normal? The plants seem quite healthy and I've got numerous little squashies & blooms on the plants.

Thanks!
Kelly

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

normal at this point.

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Great!

Turlock, CA(Zone 9a)

Hi Kelly, I have 6 squash in my EB too [ mix of crookneck and zucc type] , and mine are doing the same, looks great huh?! Now I'm wondering, do I get a trellis for them or let 'em sprawl....

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Nevr tried them in earth boxes, but the yellow summer squash and most of the modern zukes have big bushy plants but the trunk vine seldom exceeds 2 ft. This is the crookneck Dixie.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill
Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Zucchini "Eight Ball"

Thumbnail by Farmerdill
Saylorsburg, PA(Zone 6a)

Have I understood correctly that you both have 6 squash plants in one EB or just in EB's? Last year I planted one patty pan squash in an EB and it took up the whole thing! It got huge! So if you have them in one EB I would be curious to know how you are getting them to fit! Trellising or tying them up?

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

FYI... I have 6 squash in one EB per their website's instructions! I haven't tied them up, but think that might be a good idea next time (they are really sprawling!).