Creeping ground cover....... which work best on hillsides

Independence, KY(Zone 6a)

Reside in Northern Kentucky and re-doing the back yard that backs up to a wooded area. A section of the yard is too steep to mow and would like to have some type of creeping ground cover that flowers in the summer and fall while staying green in the winter months.....any suggestions?

Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

vinca... spring blooms mostly... but because of my part shade it blooms a good part of the summer too

http://hcs.osu.edu/pocketgardener/source/description/vi_minor.html

Thank you for responding to my question! I am a newbie at the whole green thumb thing ! LOL Is the vinca maintenance free and can it be cut back if it creeps into the lawn ?

Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

mine get watered when everything else needs watering.... can't tell you about the lawn thing.... mine stops at at a retaining wall... but I would say low maintenance for sure

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

The ajuga family would form a tight mat and you can either dig it up if it gets into the lawn or mow right over it. Forms 6" blue flower spikes in springtime.

Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

this page might help

http://hgic.clemson.edu/factsheets/hgic1100.htm

Northeast Harbor, ME

My favorites would be Ajuga, like pirl recommends, Liriope, and Hosta.

I'd also go with Petasides but that's just me being perverse.

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

I like creeping thyme for a ground cover. It is quite low to the ground and has a pretty pink or lavendar flower in the spring and you can cook with it.

.....and it smells so good when you step on it.

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Thyme needs sun. The area sounds shady. Vinca, Pachysandra, Creeping Jenny. Is the area to be walked on?? That makes a difference. Is it wet or dry?

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

If it's wet and acid you could use wintergreen or the low growing cultivar of cranberry. Both have pretty flowers and produce food as well.

Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)