Snake ID please?

Paris, TN(Zone 6b)

I'm new to Georgia - I knew the harmless and harmful snakes in Florida. This one doesn't look familiar. Anyone know? He's black and grey patterned - no rattle. Currently up in one of my 'bird' trees - where the little birds hang out :(

Thumbnail by Hineni
Powder Springs, GA(Zone 7b)

I wish I could help you.

Here is my 4 year old grand-neice carrying a snake and my granddaughter beside her on Easter last weekend. Her father said it was a garter snake so I hope he is right.

Thumbnail by hcmcdole
Orange Park, FL

Hey Hin, that's probably a black racer. Looks to be 4' plus. If so, it's most likely a male. And if it's out and about where you can see it, it's probably on the prowl for a female racer somewhere nearby. If that's the case, you'll probably see it again a few more times before mating season is over.
they are harmless and fast as lightning. I've had a female living in a 2" piece of corragated pipe along the back fence for 3 years now. And every spring the males come from all directions. 3 weeks ago I was sitting quietly alongside the garden and a male racer slithered past about 3 feet from me.
That same week I was also sitting quietly under an open-air gazebo covered with confederate jazmin. The racer probably wanted to get past me but I probably fidgeted a bit and he was afraid to sneak past me on the ground. But then, above me he came down out of the jazmin and onto a chicken wire trellis 3 feet in front of me. I guess he took a detour to avoid me. Didn't have a camera with me at the time. Darn!
If you see him again, see if you can check out the lower side of his mouth. If it is white, its almost certainly a black racer.
I can tell you that they are really funny and have very good eyesight. Last spring while I was sitting under the gazebo I heard some rustling in the oak leaves on the other side of the fence. I peeked over the fence and there were 2 black racers canoodling.