Is This How Poppies Normally Start Out?

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Sorry if these questions are dumb. I am new to growing poppies.

Last fall, I spread about a pound of poppy seeds that I got from a wildflower farm near here. I scattered them onto the empty lot next door so that it wouldn't look so bad.

Several poppy plants have come up with profuse foliage, but there is a small area that has a bunch of what look like tiny poppies with virtually no foliage. They are tiny, about 3-6 inches high, on a single stalk with a few small leaves only on the stalk. Are these the way that they normally start out? Will these grow into normal sized poppies?

Sheral

Thumbnail by lily13
Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Here is a picture of one that is not open yet.

Thumbnail by lily13
Marysville, WA(Zone 7a)

That is not a "normal" bloom. I find them in my garden now and then and attribute it to being overcrowded and late germinating (or perhaps being zapped by a UFO from the far side of the moon. lol) They should come up much larger than what you have shown. Someone else will hopefully have a better answer for you.

Thumbnail by balvenie
Greenwich, OH

Balvenie: Nice shirley poppies.I like the two/tone color.

Lisbon, IA(Zone 5a)

Lily13, what type of poppy seeds did you plant?

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

They came from the Wildseed Farm in Fredricksburg, Texas. I believe that they were supposed to all be Corn Poppies. However, I have had two plants bloom so far, and one appears to be a Shirley Poppy as shown below.

One of the tiny poppies that came up about a week ago was pure white, and the rest have been the orangey red as shown in my first picture. There were absolutely no poppies of any kind in that field last year.

Thumbnail by lily13
Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Here is a picture of the other one.

Thumbnail by lily13
Vancouver, BC

lily13-