New gardener to Southern New Hampshire - zone 5

Hudson, NH(Zone 5a)

Looking for suggestions for:
* Disease resistant, colorful, easy to grow shade plants which will thrive indoors and outdoors.
(Maybe a few flowering plants that like shade also - I love colorful plants.)

*Miniture evergreens which will thrive in shade

*The best place and type of grow light to purchase for an entryway that receives little or no natural light.

I have been pouring through gardening books and I am feeling a little overwhelmed at starting to garden here in Southern NH.
(However, I am sending my soil off to be tested by the NH Cooperative Extension next week.)

Thank you in advance for your assistance. I am looking forward to your insights.

Thumbnail by ICLove
Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

I am a newbie myself, so I can't help you - but there are lots of great gardeners here who are very generous and wise. I am sure they can give you some advice.

Welcome to Northeast Gardening Forum - the people here really are terrific. :-)

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

Welcome IC!
You made the right first step in getting your soil tested. Good for you!
A few questions: Is your shade area wet or dry? When you said colorful at first, did you mean colorful foliage? Are you looking for plants to go from outside to inside or for plants for each? Is it deep,deep shade (under pine trees), total shade but with high branches on decidous tres, or partial shade?

Gee, and you were already feeling overwhelmed! Sorry, but as someone who wasted tons of plants on my shade garden before I found out what worked, these distinctions matter. One thing I can tell you for sure, the fact that the catalogue says it's a shade plant is almost meaningless.

Dave

Concord, NH

Hi, ICLove. Welcome to DG. I'll second what Dave47 said - in order to give you useful suggestions, we need a bit more information. He has a great list of questions!

Sue, RI(Zone 6a)

Welcome ICLove! Don't have any suggestions but wanted to say HI!
Sue :)