Petunias & Impatiens

Fort Stewart, GA

I am fairly new to Georgia and gardening. I would like to pretty up our “front yard” We have a 35x2 strip between the walkway and the driveway and a 6x6x area in front of the driveway beside the house.

The long strip is full sun all day. Would petunias be ok here, or would they scorch in between 2 slabs of concrete in the full sun?

The square area is full shade due to the house but is right next to the driveway that gets full sun. Would impatiens grow well here? I tried to grow impatiens last year at a different house and they did horribly. They got 2 hours of midday sun, and were always very leggy.

Also I have read conflicting things. In my area 8b could petunias and impatiens be perennials?

One last question I would like to find a small bush/shrub to put in the shaded area to block the view of the drain pipes on the front of the house, any ideas?

Braselton, GA(Zone 7b)

Well, yes you can plant petunias in the long strip if you would like, and the Impatience in the shaded area would work as well. If the shaded area gets some sun you may want to put a hydrangea there, there are several different types as well as colors.

When you say 35 x 2 are you talking 35 feet? Maybe you would like some daylilies in there with the petunias, that is a nice long bed and may things would work well in a bed that size in the sun, Daylilies, Asiatics, Orientals, Iris, Canna, and lots of others as well. You may want to put some Hosta in the shaded area as well, there are many different ones that would be beautiful there with a border of impatience around them if you wanted....

Just a few suggestions, I am sure you will get more...have fun! I have had the petunias overwinter for me in zone 7B and the impatience will most likely reseed themselves if you do not disturb the beds they return.

Powder Springs, GA(Zone 7b)