What do you grow under your black walnut?

Buffalo, MN(Zone 4a)

I'm just checking to see what does well for folks under a black walnut tree. I have a few things that seem to do OK-hostas, a few astilbes and a mysotis. More things have done poorly and have had to be moved (pulmnonaria hated it).
Thanks-
Deb

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Ligularia, hosta, runner violets, ferns, azaleas (although they aren't supposed to like it), farfugium, hydrangeas, daylilies, a japanese maple, and camellias - although of course they are totally unhardy for you. The best thing that I put under my black walnut was a patio.

Buffalo, MN(Zone 4a)

Ah yes-Camellias and Japanese Maples. . . actually I'm from your area (I studied horticulture at Foothill college in Los Altos Hills and grew up in Santa Rosa) and miss those two plants a lot! I did kill a three azaleas under said tree, but it might not have been the tree's fault!
Thanks for your suggestions!
Deb

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

You are right! Foothill is such a stone's throw from us. I forgot that I have a clematis in there. Narcissus and tulips also grow there.

Cicero, IL(Zone 5a)

Dear Deb,

Plant lots of native woodland flowers. Many of them do very well under Black Walnut. Suggestions are the lovely Virginia Waterleaf, Solomon's Seal (either the native or chinese varieties okay too), false solomon's seal, Northern Sea Oats, Woodland Sunflower, any of the native sedges, monarda (beebalm) surprisingly does well too, trout lily, trilliums, etc.

Rockford, IL(Zone 4b)

I've had good luck with pulmonaria, but only Mrs Moon for some reason. I don't know why the others are more picky, but they are. Sweet woodruff, epimediums, bleeding heart, vinca, and japanese painted ferns are happy there, too.