cold snap

Decatur, GA

I have a lot of beautiful Schriener's Gardens iris that are about to bloom here in Atlanta. Between now and Monday we will have below freezing temps at night. How can I save my blooms?
Help please-there are about fifty of them.

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

You can try covering them with tall buckets or garbage cans or boxes or heavy blankets draped over some sort of framing. If your temps don't drop below 28 degrees, your stalks may survive without damage even if left uncovered, but your best chance of preserving bloom is to cover them.

Actually, your BEST bet of preserving bloom is to cut the stalks with buds that are already showing color and blooming them in vases in your home. That way you'll be able to enjoy iris bloom no matter how cold it gets outside.

Laurie

Madison, MS

I'm new to covering things myself and have been wondering about my iris also. Would putting a brown paper lunch bag over the buds save them? Or do you have to cover the entire plant? Thanks

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

You need to cover the entire plant all the way to the ground so that the warmth from the soil will hopefully prevent frost damage to the rest of the plant. Also, you do not want any part of the plant to touch whatever you use to cover it.

Readyville, TN(Zone 7a)

I have too many to cover them and agree with Laurie that the best thing is to cut the stalks for the ones that are getting ready to open, put them in vases with water and let them bloom inside the house. I'm enjoying several this way right now.

This message was edited Apr 6, 2007 6:19 AM

Kylertown, PA(Zone 5b)

I wonder how this cold and freeze is going to affect the Median Iris Society convention in Nebraska this year? They were due to get started like May 8 and 9? They surely must have been seeing bloom stalks on their little ones! I hope they didn't freeze.

Crosby, TX(Zone 9a)