I think I overdid it

White Lake, ON(Zone 4b)

Hi all, it's my first time posting in the Ferns, Fungi & Moss forum. I'm experimenting with propagating ferns from spores for the first time. I have basic instructions that came with them and I think I overdid it on the sowing because they came up in a thick mat. These are Christmas Fern (Polystichum acrostichoides).

So here's my question - is the large 'plantlet' in the middle of the pic more 'mature', or is there a whole bunch of 'plantlets' together? I don't know what a single one looks like.

My instructions say 'If there are a lot growing close together, they must be thinned out to about 1 or 2 per 3-inch area. If not, they will only grow male organs." So I'm wondering what just one of them looks like. I have already transplanted them in clumps about the size of that (1/4"), should I be thinning them further?

Thanks very much.

Sandy

Thumbnail by sanannie
Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Looks like a bunch together. Each prothallus (the technical term for a fern 'sporeling') is a single flat, unbranched notched disc-shape.

I'd not worry too much about spreading them all out, you're sure to get several adult ferns appearing from that lot there.

Resin

White Lake, ON(Zone 4b)

Thanks, Resin. I had already spread them into clumps about 1/4", but now I know the clumps are several prothallus, not just one, I'll have another look and see if they are easily separated. They are very tiny!

Sandy

Chesterland, OH(Zone 5b)

Sanannie,
I've started from fern from spore too this year, but mine are not as far along yet. I am eager to follow your progression.
I agree (for what that's worth, since I don't really know myself, LOL) with Resin I believe those to be groups of prothallus. Do they get separated at this point?
Shady

White Lake, ON(Zone 4b)