drdon, I think these were your babies...

No. San Diego Co., CA(Zone 10b)

I got these at last year's So. CA round-up - I'm pretty sure from drdon.
Here's #1 - is it purple majesty?

Thumbnail by KaperC

#2 - I just love this plant. I put the tiny little seedling between some rocks - it bloomed in a few months and hasn't stopped since.

Thumbnail by KaperC
Townsville, Australia(Zone 10a)

Hello,

No 1 is definately not Purple Majesty.

This is what purple majesty looks like.
http://www.selectseeds.com/images/400/2150_f.jpg

If you get any seeds off this pink beauty send them this way please.

Your pics are gorgeous.

Annette

Hi Annette,

Wondering why you say "definitely not" Purple Majesty? It looks very like http://davesgarden.com/pf/showimage/58276/ to me. I'm not good at plant ID, so any tips you can give would help me.

The other one is very red, actually - it looks pink to you? I thought it might be coccinea?

Perhaps my photo colors do not come true enough. It was hard to get the PM picture, because the flowers 'nod' a little and the light washes things out. I have a beautiful rosa Banksiae 'lutea' and cannot for the life of me get that lovely butter yellow color in a photo.

Kathleen

Hebron, KY

Kathleen,

The first one looks like 'Purple Majesty' to me too. And, the second one looks like a beautiful red greggii to me.

Both great pics.

Marilyn

Fallbrook, CA(Zone 10b)

Could be Purple Majesty.....I got a Purple Majesty from drdon last year also.

Thanks, Marilyn. What does a greggii look like? lol Is it just something you pick up after a while?

Sherry, drdon really had a bumper crop of salvias last year. He was so generous and so many of mine died in the heat - I just couldn't protect them enough to get started. I'll have to get some little umbrellas I can spike into the ground!

Annette, drdon might be sending you the seeds on that one if you're trading - let me know when we get it identified if you still need seeds.

Thanks, everyone.

Kathleen